Open Discussion Group

New to Moulton, New to the Club, Need advice!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Hello all.
    I thought I’d introduce myself and my bicycle to the Moulton World and ask the members for some advice.
    Originally a mountain biker, I’ve swapped my baggy shorts for Lycra and a flourescent jacket, and I have caught the Moulton bug. I’m new to Moultons, and I have decided to embark on restoring an example of the breed, to enjoy the process and hopefully learn some new skills and some basic cycle rebuilding knowledge.
    I thought a good place to start would be to restore a plain old Moulton ‘Standard’ into a machine for being a general runabout, light commuting, and some occasional touring. There are other examples I’d like to own, but this seemed as good a place as any to start.
    I came by a 1965 standard, in rough condition, and proceeded to strip it down to all it’s component parts to appraise what was needed and decide a course of action.
    I’m pleased to say that the parts that I understand are usually a pain to remove, (stem and rear fork/pivot) came away without a fight, thanks to help from a very good lubricant spray. I work in the technical department of my local Fire Brigade, and we use this quite uncommon spray to dismantle seized components, and it has never been known to fail.
    The frame is in good condition with no dents or twists, and will be shot blasted and powder coated.
    The serial number is 160401 and it says 65 on ‘t other side.
    One of the front fork stanchions was slightly bent, and I have straightened this and subjected the welds to NDT testing at work, which showed no cracks. The rear fork of this series one shows no signs of any cracks, and I have also NDT’d it, but it will be going off for strengthening as a precaution. The forks will also be shot blasted and powder coated. Mudguards and rack will be resprayed by me.